Therapeutic Brain Stimulation


Top Up PhD Scholarship in Clinical Neuroscience

This is an exciting and unique oppourunity for a high performing new PhD student to join our group and work on research investigating the mechanisms of therapeutic brain stimualtion in psychiatry.  For more information download the full advert HERE



The Therapeutic Brain Stimulation team focuses on using advanced neuroscience technology to investigate brain function and develop innovative treatments across a range of disorders. 

We use a range of advanced imaging techniques and novel treatments, including:

  • Electroencephalography (EEG)
  • Near infra-red spectroscopy (NIRS)
  • Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI)
  • Diffusion tensor imaging (DTI)
  • Positron emission tomography (PET)
  • Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation (TMS)
  • Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation (tDCS)
  • Magnetic Seizure Therapy (MST)
  • Electro-convulsive Therapy (ECT)
  • Deep Brain Stimulation (DBS)

To find out more about our research and treatment tools see here.

Our research team is studying potential uses of these techniques in disorders such as:

  • Depression
  • Bipolar Disorder
  • Schizophrenia
  • Autism and Asperger's syndrome
  • Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
  • Post-traumatic Stress Disorder
  • Alzheimer's Disease
  • Addiction
  • Chronic pain

To find out about current clinical research projects and investigative studies and how to be involved see our Treatment Studies and our Investigative Studies


Therapeutic Brain Stimulation team


Professor Paul Fitzgerald

Deputy Director
A/Prof Kate Hoy, Head Cognitive Therapeutics Program

Research Fellows
Dr Bernadette Fitzgibbon
Dr Richard Thomson
Dr Robin Cash
Dr Manreena Kaur
Dr Jerome Maller

Team Co-ordinator
Karyn Richardson

Research Registrars

Research Nurses
David Elliott 
Susan McQueen 
Lenore Wambeek

Research Assistants
Kirsten Gainsford
Caitlyn Rogers
Hannah Coyle
Laura Knox
Caley Sullivan
Doctoral Students
Rodney Anderson (PhD)
SungWook Chung (PhD)
Melanie Emonson (DPsych)
Aron Hill (PhD)
Melanie Emonson (DPsych)
Oscar Murphy (DPsych)
Karyn Richardson (DPsych)
Kirstyn Windsor (DPsych)
Hannah Coyle (DPsych)
Sin-Ki Ng (PhD)
Xianwei Che (PhD)
Ingrid Butterfield (PhD)

Honours Students

Research Placements
Greg Roebuck (MD)
brainstim top up scholarship 2016-1.pdf616.17 KB

 MAPrc Monash Alfred Psychiatry Research Centre, Level 4, 607 St Kilda Road, Melbourne 3004

 © MAPrc 2013. Designed and hosted by Infoxchange Australia