Professor Jayashri Kulkarni inducted onto the 2011 Victorian Honour Roll of Women

Professor Jayashri Kulkarni (Pictured with Minister Mary Wooldridge) was inducted onto the 2011 Victorian Honour Roll of Women on March 16th at a special ceremony at the Victorian National Gallery.

Together with twenty inspirational women from around Victoria, Professor Jayashri Kulkarni has been inducted onto the 2011 Victorian Honour Roll of Women in a ceremony held at the Victorian National Gallery on Wednesday 16th March, 2011. Mary Wooldridge (MP), Minster for Women’s Affairs presented the award recognising Professor Kulkarni’s excellence and leadership in mental health research, her success in developing new treatments and services for people with mental illnesses, and for helping to raise the profile and our understanding of mental illness in the community.  

Professor Kulkarni’s induction in particular recognises her work in the area of Women’s Mental Health. Professor Kulkarni has established a specialist Women’s Mental Health Clinic which was launched at the Monash Alfred Psychiatry Research Centre in 2010, and she has pioneered the use of oestrogen as a treatment for people with schizophrenia. Professor Kulkarni also won the ABC‘s 2010 New Inventors Grand Final with her colleague Brian Lithgow for their work in developing ‘EVestG’™ - a revolutionary diagnostic tool for mental illnesses.  

Professor Kulkarni stated that “This is a great honour and I am humbled to be acknowledged in this way along side so many amazing Victorian women. There are a total of 458 women who have been inducted since it commenced in 2001. Ms Wooldridge commented on the 2011 inductees “their work has made a real and lasting difference to Victoria.... they all selflessly and courageously took action and made our state a better and fairer place with their efforts and energy”
More information about the Victorian honour Roll of Women can be found at;




 MAPrc Monash Alfred Psychiatry Research Centre, Level 4, 607 St Kilda Road, Melbourne 3004

 © MAPrc 2013. Designed and hosted by Infoxchange Australia